Platonic solid in Euclidean geometry / Platonische Koerper


The five great platonic solids

Tetrahedron (four faces) Cube or hexahedron (six faces) Octahedron (eight faces) Dodecahedron (twelve faces) Icosahedron (twenty faces)

In Euclidean geometry, a Platonic solid is a regular, convex polyhedron. The faces are congruent, regular polygons, with the same number of faces meeting at each vertex. There are exactly five solids which meet those criteria; each is named according to its number of faces.

Geometers have studied the mathematical beauty and symmetry of the Platonic solids for thousands of years. They are named for the ancient Greek philosopher Plato who theorized in his dialogue, the Timaeus, that the classical elements were made of these regular solids.[

Text Source/Credits:

See also this making of:

Platonic solid in Euclidean geometry / Platonische Koerper by nischi is licensed under the Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial license.

  • 1074uploads
  • 0questions
  • 0answers